Course - Initial Teacher Training in PCET Level 4

Speak without obligation to Bromley College of Further & Higher Education

To contact you must accept the privacy policy

Image gallery

Comments about Course - Initial Teacher Training in PCET Level 4 - At the institution - Bromley - Greater London

  • Entry requirements
    Entry requirements

    The PGCE and PCE are In-Service courses for practising Teachers or Trainers in the PCET sector. As an applicant you must be currently employed as a teacher or trainer and teaching or training for a minimum of three hours per week. You must hold relevant qualifications or experience in your own area of expertise, which would normally be at level 4. Those who have previous qualifications teaching or recent and relevant experience may be able to claim accreditation of prior learning (APL) thus reducing the number of courses if they are eligible for exemption on some courses.
  • Academic title
    Initial Teacher Training in PCET
  • Course description
    General information

    The Initial Teacher Training in PCET is a range of part-time in-service courses for practising teachers or trainers in the Post Compulsory Education and Training sector who wish to gain a recognised, national teaching qualification.

    The courses on offer include: PGCE: Professional Graduate Certificate in Education (LLS : DTLLS), for Trainees with a degree or degree equivalence PCE: Professional Certificate in Education (LLS : DTLLS) for Non-graduates CTC: Certificate in Teaching Competence (LLS : CTLLS) for Trainees in an associate teacher role.  

    Candidates for these courses usually come from a wide range of teaching or training environments e.g. Colleges, the Police Force, Local Authority Services, Private Companies and the Health Services. The Professional Certificate in Education (LLS:DTLLS), Professional Graduate Certificate in Education (LLS:DTLLS) and Certificate in Teaching Competence (LLS:CTLLS) are within the University of Greenwich's Academic Framework.

    Course content

    PGCE & PCE: To gain the award of Professional Graduate Certificate in Education / Professional Certificate in Education (LSS:DTLLS) students must successfully complete all seven courses within the programme and be assessed eight times on their practical teaching skills (four times in Year 1 and four times in Year 2). CTC: For those currently employed in the role of associate teacher and who wish to gain a Certificate in Teaching Competence (LLS: CTLLS) students must show:

        * Evidence of 30 hours (minimum) of completed teaching in the subject specialist area together
        * Four assessments of practical teaching.

    Students on the CTC will also have to successfully completed the following courses and credit points:

        * Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (6 credit points)
        * Planning and Enabling Learning (9 credit points)
        * Principles & Practice of Assessment (3 credit points) (Part of) Managing
        * Supporting Learning (6 credit points)

    TOTAL (24 credit points).

    Teaching and assessment

    Students are assessed by observations in a Teaching or Training situation four times each year; by the completion of Professional Practice Portfolios as well as end of unit assignments. If you decide not to continue after year 1 and successfully complete the units the University will award you the Certificate in Teaching Competence (LLS:CTLLS).


    Successful students may progress to the Foundation Degree in Education and Training and a BA Honours degree in Education and Training. Students may also wish progress to a Master's degree. Trainees on the Certificate in Teaching Competence programme can progress onto the PGCE or PCE programmes.

Other programs related to primary education

This site uses cookies.
If you continue navigating, the use of cookies is deemed to be accepted.
See more  |